Netflix Fall 2016 Preview

Netflix Fall 2016 Preview

Welcome to you big Netflix fall preview covering everything that’s coming soon to Netflix in September, October, November and December of 2016. This preview will include all of the TV series and movies coming to Netflix. Whether it’s movies from the brand new Disney contract that kicks off in September. We’ll preview the third party content including content from FOX, AMC, CBS, ABC and The CW to name but a few. Not forgetting, the massive range of Netflix Originals that are scheduled to release over the next few months on the run up to Christmas.

Netflix Originals Coming This Fall

netflix-originalsLet’s kick off with the Netflix Originals. It’s going to be hard for Netflix to push our Netflix Originals that will be bigger and better than what has already come so far in 2016. This year, we’ve seen some great reboots in the form of Fuller House, returns to form for the likes of House of Cards and Orange is the New Black and the summer hit and probably the best new show to air this year, Stranger Things.

With that said, Netflix has plenty up its sleeve to keep us binge watching into the early hours in the morning over the fall period. What we’ll do is highlight some of the best Netflix Originals coming and then give you a more in-depth list at the end. Keep an eye on our coming soon section as we always preview the next months Netflix Originals in the first week of each month.

September 2016

Narcos – Season 2 (September 2nd)

narcos-season-2

Whether or not Narcos season 2 will be the final season of the show is another question for another time. What we do know is, is that Narcos season 2 will spell the ultimate demise of Pablo Escobar as we know him. Hot off the heels of his prison escape, the famed drug lord, has to go now into hiding after a manhunt is now underway. With a massive production and a great cast it’d be sad if this were the actual end of the show as two seasons in the modern day is very short. Either way, we can’t wait to head back to Colombia in September.

Before it lands onto Netflix, you should go check out our Narcos season 2 preview.

Marvel’s Luke Cage – Season 1 (September 30th)

luke-cageThis September towards the end of the month, we’ll be getting the origin story of our third Defender. Luke Cage, featured in Jessica Jones a year ago, will be getting his solo outing in September as we discover how he got his powers and his mysterious past which he desperately tries to avoid talking about throughout Jessica Jones. The release of his show will mark the third solo outing for three of the four Defenders which is expected to land on Netflix late next year.

For more on Luke Cage, go check out our preview.

Other titles to look out for in September 2016

  • Longmire (Season 5)
  • Amanda Knox (Documentary)
  • From Dusk Till Dawn (Season 3) – First run original only in some countries
  • Easy (Season 1)
  • Chef’s Kitchen: France (Season 3)

October 2016

The Ranch – Season 1 Part 2 (October 7th)
the-ranch-second-half-season-2

The Ranch is Netflix’s answer to The Big Bang Theory and Friends. It stars Aston Kutcher who returns to his families Ranch to help out after the family has racked up significant debt. We had the first half of the first season earlier in the year, and we’re glad to report that it’s returning in October. While not for everyone, the show indeed found a dedicated and loyal group of fans which has already led to the second season expected to land sometime in 2017.

Black Mirror – Netflix Original (October 21st)

black-mirror-season-3

The road to Charlie Brooker’s season 3 of Black Mirror has been a long one, but we’re glad to report it’s finally near, and we cannot wait. The expanded season will have much more episodes than what we’ve had before and will continue to tell individual stories that act like a drama but often has a twist usually surrounding one idea of technology. Season 3 has the potential to be the best TV show of the year so keep an eye on this one.

Also coming in October 2016

  • Haters Back Off (Season 1)
  • The 13th (Documentary)
  • Mascots (Movie)

November 2016

The Crown – Season 1
the-crown

If you’ve been waiting for a time period drama during the time that the queen was coronated, then The Crown is going to be for you. Enlisting the talents of Matt Smith (who played Doctor Who) and Claire Foy to play Queen Elizabeth, this big budget show has gotten the royal family a little nervous but that’s not a bad thing. It’s likely to depict a realistic timeline and story of how the still reigning monarch, came to be.

Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life (November 25th)

gilmore-girls-2016

Gilmore Girls is back. Gilmore Girls is back! It’s been almost ten years since we last had Gilmore Girls on our screens and who would have thought back then that Netflix would be rebooting the series. There have been lots of details about Gilmore Girlsreleased so far, and we can’t wait to see what direction Netflix takes with the fan-favorite show.

Also coming in November 2016

  • The Ivory Game (Documentary)
  • Lovesick (Season 2)

We’ll have more details of Netflix Originals scheduled for December in a couple of months.

Disney Movies Coming This Fall

disney-movies-netflix-2016It’s been a long time coming, but the Disney contract is finally coming to fruition with the first set of movies coming to Netflix which will last for around three years. The deal was struck back in 2014 and covers Disney, Lucasfilm and Marvel movies that have been released on January 1st, 2016.

While we’re still waiting for an official list, it’s likely that we won’t learn from the next month’s movies until fairly close to release, but we can make reasonably good predictions. How the new deal works is that once the film is released in theatres, we’ll then have to wait until the DVD and Blu-ray release. After that, we’ll have to wait just a little bit longer until they’re available on Netflix. In the cases of The Finest Hour, where we suspect it’ll launch relatively soon after September 1st, that means you’ll have to wait around nine months after each movie releases in the cinema.

The Finest Hours (First released January 29th, 2016)

the-finest-hours

The first of the Disney releases is probably one a lot of people missed when it first released at the beginning of the year. Considered to be a box office flop by most with a budget of 80 million and only managing to gain a box office total of 52 million, it’ll probably be most people’s first watch of this movie. Starring Chris Pine, it seeks to tell the story of a ship and its crew as its hit by a blizzard in 1952.

We suspect we’ll have The Finest Hours released in September.

Zootopia (First released March 4th, 2016)

zootopia

Largely considered to not only be the best animated movie of 2016 but also the best movie period, Zootopia pulls out its classic charm and delivers. It tells the story of one fox and rabbit who sets out to work together to uncover a consiparacy.

Zootopia may be part of the September or October Netflix release schedule.

Captain America: Civil War (First released April 12th, 2016)

captain-america-civil-war

Captain America: Civil War will be the first Marvel movie included in the new deal which to be fair, see’s nearly all of the heroes we’ve met in the MCU (except Thor and the Hulk) come together for a massive brawl.

We suspect we may have to wait until October/November until Captain America arrives onto Netflix.

The Jungle Book (First released April 15th, 2016)

the-jungle-book

Just before the summer kicked off, Disney set out to recreate a live action version of its famed animated classic The Jungle Book. Much darker in tone, the movie has been highly rated by critics and fans alike.

We suspect that you may see The Jungle Book available in November/December 2016.

Other Disney Movies release this year but not expected to be arriving in 2016:

  • Alice Through The Looking Glass (Released May 27th)
  • Finding Dory (Released June 17th)
  • The BFG (Released July 1st)
  • Pete’s Dragon (Released August 12th)

Please note: None of these are confirmed and are subject to change. 

Third Party Titles Coming to Netflix in Fall 2016

This is where we cover the rest of the titles scheduled to come to Netflix in the fall and boy is there a lot of great stuff to cover. It includes all of the biggest TV shows which aren’t produced by Netflix but instead produced by third party providers who then give Netflix the rights to stream on their platform. This list includes content from CBS, The CW, FX, AMC and more.

None of these dates are officially confirmed, but given release patterns on Netflix, they’re reliable predictions.

Titles Expected in September 2016

  • Agents of Shield – Season 2
  • American Horror Story: Hotel
  • Gotham – Season 2
  • Madam Secretary – Season 2
  • The Walking Dead – Season 6

Titles Expected in October 2016

  • Arrow – Season 4
  • iZombie – Season 2
  • Reign – Season 3
  • Supernatural – Season 11
  • The 100 – Season 3
  • The Flash – Season 2
  • The Originals – Season 3
  • The Vampire Diaries – Season 7

Titles Expected in November 2016

  • Midsomer Murders – Season 15
  • Person of Interest – Season 5
Create a Discussion
Join a Group
Add Friends
Profile photo of Admin
Hailing from Wisconsin, land of the Green Bay Packers, Kevin now resides in the enemy territory known as Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

Lost Password